Wednesday, December 31, 2008
Happy New Years!
Happy New Years! Just a reminder to everyone to adopt this year instead of buying from a breeder. There are so many dogs out there who could use a better year for 2009, and you could be the person to make it happen!
Saturday, December 20, 2008
What do you do?
As (in my opinion) a responsible 'pit bull' owner, I try to make sure my dogs won't get into trouble. They've been raised around dogs since they were 5 months old, but I still keep a break-stick handy in case something happens (which it has. They got into an all-out fight with each other over a rib bone the second day we got them). I also make sure my dogs are well-socialized with all ages of people and dogs, and make sure I have the equipment to keep others safe as well as my dogs when I go out in public. This includes the breaking stick, and a sturdy muzzle just in case I need it. I haven't yet, although we've had some scuffles. (A german shepherd and an english bulldog have both tried to take a souvenir from DC). I also don't allow people to randomly come up to them when they're not expecting it. Though they may not attack, their behavior can be perceived as dangerous, particularly when a 60 lb pit bull starts jumping everywhere.
So while this may seem like a walking excuse to ban these dogs, it can in fact save your dog from being confiscated and euthanized. If people ask why my dog is muzzled, I simply say it is for training purposes (for Kiba, my littlest) or simply because he is in a weird funk today and I don't trust him around other dogs at the time. The chances of actually seeing one of my pit bulls in a muzzle is rather rare, but it is still a handy tool for protecting someone else's dog-and yours.
So what are some methods you use to make sure you're a responsible pit bull owner? What do you think makes a responsible owner? IMO, a responsible pit bull owner knows the history of the breed, what the dog is capable of, and takes steps to prevent any problems like dog aggression. Many people I've spoken to don't know that the dog requires any socialization at all, which, quite frankly, scares me. Also, what about chaining your pit bull?
That, I think depends on how long the dog stays outside, and how you interact with him. I do not believe pit bulls should be an outside dog unless you spend ample time (i.e. 3 hours or more) with him. The dog having a job is also a major plus. Pit bulls love nothing more than working (aka playtime), especially when they see how happy it makes you. But if they are to be outside for extended periods of time, at least make sure they've got shelter.
Now, let's hear those opinions!
So what are some methods you use to make sure you're a responsible pit bull owner? What do you think makes a responsible owner? IMO, a responsible pit bull owner knows the history of the breed, what the dog is capable of, and takes steps to prevent any problems like dog aggression. Many people I've spoken to don't know that the dog requires any socialization at all, which, quite frankly, scares me. Also, what about chaining your pit bull?
Now, let's hear those opinions!
Tuesday, December 16, 2008
To breed or not to breed?
It's something I've heard a lot, especially recently. 'We should stop breeding pit bulls because there are too many of them!' Well, are they right or are they wrong?
Let's look at it from the anti-breeder's side. If we stop breeding dogs (and in most cases, spay and neuter them all), the shelters will be cleared and put out of business within 10 years. Alright, good job. But, now there's a demand for dogs and absolutely zero supply, thanks to the spaying/neutering of all the dogs. Now what? We start importing from foreign countries, which is well enough, but it's rather expensive just for a dog. Sure, we could restart breeding populations again, but won't that just start the cycle again?
From the breeder's point of view, to stop breeding altogether is a death sentence for all dogs everywhere. The simple fact of the matter is if you stop breeding, no more dogs. Spaying and neutering is fine, but why spay/neuter a dog who's got something worth passing on?
Where do I stand? I think that one or two litters a year is fine. Over 5 litters a year is just stupid. So there goes backyard breeders and puppy mills, which is just despicable. As for what dog should be breeding, they should serve a purpose. Breed herding dogs who can and excel in herding. Hunting types should have a high prey drive and be proven in the field. If your dog can't perform, or you're just too lazy to find out, then you have no business breeding it. With carefully regulated breeding, we can both empty out shelters and maintain the supply for the demand. It's simple math.
Let's look at it from the anti-breeder's side. If we stop breeding dogs (and in most cases, spay and neuter them all), the shelters will be cleared and put out of business within 10 years. Alright, good job. But, now there's a demand for dogs and absolutely zero supply, thanks to the spaying/neutering of all the dogs. Now what? We start importing from foreign countries, which is well enough, but it's rather expensive just for a dog. Sure, we could restart breeding populations again, but won't that just start the cycle again?
From the breeder's point of view, to stop breeding altogether is a death sentence for all dogs everywhere. The simple fact of the matter is if you stop breeding, no more dogs. Spaying and neutering is fine, but why spay/neuter a dog who's got something worth passing on?
Where do I stand? I think that one or two litters a year is fine. Over 5 litters a year is just stupid. So there goes backyard breeders and puppy mills, which is just despicable. As for what dog should be breeding, they should serve a purpose. Breed herding dogs who can and excel in herding. Hunting types should have a high prey drive and be proven in the field. If your dog can't perform, or you're just too lazy to find out, then you have no business breeding it. With carefully regulated breeding, we can both empty out shelters and maintain the supply for the demand. It's simple math.
Wednesday, December 10, 2008
Today sucks.
I'm sick. It sucks. As a result, no story. Soon as I'm better, I'll post a story about Dakota, ok? Just bear with me, my so far about 2 readers. It'll be here soon, I promise.
Friday, December 5, 2008
Friday Night Special!
I know, i haven't updated in a while, but since it's friday, i figured i'd post some stories of pit bulls from random people that i happen to be talking to at the moment. the first one is from This Boy Can Zip (Howrse.com-all of them are from there)
OK, well I will tell you about my pit that I had when I was oh I would say when I was about 9 or so.I broke my arm when I fell from one of the trees I was climbing in my backyard, and she, Rosie, was right there until I could get back up. She helped me to the door so I could call my parents because they were at work at the time. After I convinced my parents that Rosie had to come into the hospital with me, they finally budged and let her come in with some convincing talk to the doctors and nurses that she wasn't bad. She jumped up onto the hospital bed and laid at my feet for a long while until the doctors had to practicaly drag her off so they could take some tests. She was really growling at them. When she died, she died from arthritus in her legs. I stayed up with her until we had to take her to the vet and I cried until my mom told me I should leave. We took her home and buried her underneth the tree that I fell out of. I have really old pictures of her that still make my eyes water.
Gyrfalcon9
We had a wonderful show dog breeder that came to the vet's office I used to work at. She was an amazing advocate. Her male, Scooby, was sooooooooo sweet. He could hurt you though. He would wag his tail so hard that when it hit you it raised welts! But he was so sweet you really didn't care. And my friend has a pit mix I call one of my fuzzy nephews. Joseph loves to cuddle. When he wags his tail, it curls him into a C shape he wags it so hard. He is such a push over he was chased by cocker spaniels!
OK, well I will tell you about my pit that I had when I was oh I would say when I was about 9 or so.I broke my arm when I fell from one of the trees I was climbing in my backyard, and she, Rosie, was right there until I could get back up. She helped me to the door so I could call my parents because they were at work at the time. After I convinced my parents that Rosie had to come into the hospital with me, they finally budged and let her come in with some convincing talk to the doctors and nurses that she wasn't bad. She jumped up onto the hospital bed and laid at my feet for a long while until the doctors had to practicaly drag her off so they could take some tests. She was really growling at them. When she died, she died from arthritus in her legs. I stayed up with her until we had to take her to the vet and I cried until my mom told me I should leave. We took her home and buried her underneth the tree that I fell out of. I have really old pictures of her that still make my eyes water.
Gyrfalcon9
We had a wonderful show dog breeder that came to the vet's office I used to work at. She was an amazing advocate. Her male, Scooby, was sooooooooo sweet. He could hurt you though. He would wag his tail so hard that when it hit you it raised welts! But he was so sweet you really didn't care. And my friend has a pit mix I call one of my fuzzy nephews. Joseph loves to cuddle. When he wags his tail, it curls him into a C shape he wags it so hard. He is such a push over he was chased by cocker spaniels!
Saturday, November 22, 2008
I found a decent site today, just randomly searching. I was gonna post a small article about Dakota, the SAR pit bull who was hired by NASA, but I figured this deserved a mention. It's from pitbulllovers.com. Someone wrote an article on a book, Fatal Dog Attacks, and at first, I thought they were going to be another typical pit bull bigot, with the whole 'ban 'em all' attitude, but no, she actually had some good ideas, and some pretty good insight on why we see such aggressive pit bull attacks all the time. She also mentioned some things about regulating breeding, which I am TOTALLY in agreement with. If you wanna breed your fugly, non-registered, un-titled, won't-do-a-damn-thing-but-fuck-she's-a-puurrty-color so-called pit bull, you should be FINED, not to mention you should probably be sterilized. We've got the same problem with horses as we do dogs. Too many god-damned backyard breeders and puppy mills. If you've got a registered, good-looking, well-mannered, even temperamented dog with a great show record both in the ring and on the field, and you wanna breed, by all means. But for the love of god, don't pump out 20+ puppies a year! Especially don't charge 2000-something bucks per dog, because NO-ONE will buy them, and you'll be stuck with a bunch of dogs you can't afford to take care of. I think there should be regulations on breeding, for any animal, not just dogs and horses. If we cut out byb and puppy mills, we could empty animal shelters within a matter of years. It's as simple as that. There is no need for a zillion puppies a year that no one will buy, who won't do anything, and will most likely end up in a shelter. But anyway, here's a link to the page, pit bull attacks, so have fun. Don't forget, you can use any post anywhere you want, just be sure to mention which blog they came from when you use them.
Friday, November 21, 2008
No new stories, so just a random one!
My pit mix Megan got caught in the fence a few weeks ago...she's doing alright now, but she was messed up pretty bad. I thought she might have lost her eye, but after some closer examination (and lots of water!) I realized it was just her patch. All in all, she wasn't hurt bad, she just hit her head bad.



i don't know if any pictures worked or not, if they did yay, if they didn't i'll find another way....but anyways, this is after about a week of antibiotic cream and playfighting, so i'd say she's doing great...if you have any stories you'd like me to post, just lemme know and i will. i'm always looking for new content, and the more the better! Next time, I may do a story on Popsicle and Dakota...seems like it'd be a good story. Au Revoir!
i don't know if any pictures worked or not, if they did yay, if they didn't i'll find another way....but anyways, this is after about a week of antibiotic cream and playfighting, so i'd say she's doing great...if you have any stories you'd like me to post, just lemme know and i will. i'm always looking for new content, and the more the better! Next time, I may do a story on Popsicle and Dakota...seems like it'd be a good story. Au Revoir!
Sunday, November 16, 2008
Massive problems
Here's a website I found. Mugleston Farm
I found tons of stuff wrong with this one. Number one, every dog I saw on that site had the same oversized head, oversized, overmuscled chest, and just overall godawful look of a severely deformed dog. Is this really what people want their dogs to look like? There's no way those dogs are going to be breathing well soon. All of them look like a disaster waiting to happen. APBTs are NOT supposed to look like that, I'm sorry. Here's a page full of properly sized APBTs
realpitbull.com They are still well-muscled, but they aren't 'wide' or 'bulky'. Just how a real pit bull is supposed to be.
Friday, November 14, 2008
Welcome!
Ok, this is a new blog, and I'm sharing it with my fiance, so posts may look different from time to time. First off, this blog is going to be mostly about pit bull breeds, how we've fucked it up, how we've done good with the breeds, and how to keep 'pit bull bigots' at bay. I don't have time to post a story today, my internet tends to be rather limited, but here's to hoping for the success of this blog!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)