Monday, May 4, 2009

Well, at least it fits, right?

Sorry it's been so long since I posted. I've been rather busy with keeping the kennel running, my relationship working and getting my dogs through their CGC.


Michael Vick is going to be PeTA's spokesperson. No, this is not a sick joke. Why would it be? PeTA kills over 2000 animals yearly, Michael Vick is the perfect person to represent them! I don't know how well Vick liking pit bulls will roll over with PeTA, but we'll just see how that goes. Here's the actual story:

Published: May 01, 2009
NEW YORK (AdAge.com) -- Michael Vick is in talks to become the new spokesman for PETA.
Yes, you read that correctly. The disgraced one-time NFL superstar serving prison time for funding an illegal dog-fighting ring is primed to do public-service ads for People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals upon his release later this month. According to three people with knowledge of the matter, the proposed endorsement is part of a comprehensive PR scheme aimed at rehabilitating the quarterback's image and gaining him readmission to the league that banned him from playing.

"I'm familiar with [the plan]," said Dan Shannon, director of youth outreach and campaigns for PETA. "We have been in discussions with Michael Vick, with his management team, about the possibility of him putting out a public-service announcement with PETA when he's out of jail. We want him to discourage people from taking part in dog-fighting. I can do it until I'm blue in the face and it might not convince anybody. Michael Vick sure can. He can say, 'Look, I did it, I was wrong, and it ruined my career.'"

Full story here

Of course, PeTA actually turned him down. Apparently Vick just didn't kill enough dogs for their taste.

Tuesday, February 17, 2009

How to beat BSL-What every dog owner should know!

Welcome to dogpolitics.com! Everything you needed to know to keep your pit bull safe. A common target seen here is often PeTA, or their cousin, HSUS, the leaders in promoting BSL, and PeTA in particular, killing them themselves (with a 95% kill rate, too. In case you've been living under a rock, both groups asked for donations for the care and rehabilitation of Michael Vick's dogs, while lobbying for their death-at the same time. They also claimed the dogs were in their care-which none were-and when questions rose about the money donated, neither group could quite figure out where it went.


Just as a note, you'll be seeing more and more anti-animal rights blogs on here, mostly because they are the main enemy of responsible dog owners, and pet owners in general.

Wednesday, January 28, 2009

Ok, I can't help it. I feel guilty as hell and need some kind of reassurance. I'll tell the story of what happened to Bandit.

I'm sitting at the computer, responding to some dumb-ass petard. I see DC out of the corner of my eye, but he's not doing anything suspicious, so I don't pay any attention, since as far as I know all the puppies are in their own pen and the other dogs are asleep in the other room. Now, DC doesn't usually even have food aggression, let alone dog aggression, so this was a pretty big shocker for me. I turned around to grab a drink and I notice Bandit twitching like mad in the food bowl. At first I figure he just got scared, until I noticed his head was swollen, his eyes were rolling back, and he could barely breathe. DC was hiding in the corner. Upon getting to the vet, she confirmed blood clots in the brain, and there was no alternative but euthanization.

What gets me is this-if DC actually attacked, like it seems, wouldn't there be blood, and wouldn't the puppy have at least made a noise? There wasn't even a peep out of him, and there was literally no damage anywhere except his brain. I don't even know if it's possible for that to happen on it's own. We did not have DC euthanized, nor did we rehome him. We simply forbade him from being in the same room as any puppy, and this has worked surprisingly well considering he's scared to death of them now. He's been getting better about it, and has even gone so far as to let one sleep on him (under supervision) without incident.

So this is where I'm stuck-either DC did it, and really quickly, or Bandit just started convulsing and his brain clotted on its own...

It's been awhile...

It's been forever since I posted, but then I've had to deal with 6 puppies for a while. Unfortunately we lost one to our pit bull. It was my mistake for not paying better attention to him, and when he fell asleep in the food bowl, he became fair game. But that's another story.

Anyways, I've been a member of peta-sucks.com for a while now, and came across this as well as this
I figured it might make a good read for someone, and possibly spur some discussion.

Wednesday, December 31, 2008

Happy New Years!

Happy New Years! Just a reminder to everyone to adopt this year instead of buying from a breeder. There are so many dogs out there who could use a better year for 2009, and you could be the person to make it happen!

Saturday, December 20, 2008

What do you do?

As (in my opinion) a responsible 'pit bull' owner, I try to make sure my dogs won't get into trouble. They've been raised around dogs since they were 5 months old, but I still keep a break-stick handy in case something happens (which it has. They got into an all-out fight with each other over a rib bone the second day we got them). I also make sure my dogs are well-socialized with all ages of people and dogs, and make sure I have the equipment to keep others safe as well as my dogs when I go out in public. This includes the breaking stick, and a sturdy muzzle just in case I need it. I haven't yet, although we've had some scuffles. (A german shepherd and an english bulldog have both tried to take a souvenir from DC). I also don't allow people to randomly come up to them when they're not expecting it. Though they may not attack, their behavior can be perceived as dangerous, particularly when a 60 lb pit bull starts jumping everywhere.Photobucket So while this may seem like a walking excuse to ban these dogs, it can in fact save your dog from being confiscated and euthanized. If people ask why my dog is muzzled, I simply say it is for training purposes (for Kiba, my littlest) or simply because he is in a weird funk today and I don't trust him around other dogs at the time. The chances of actually seeing one of my pit bulls in a muzzle is rather rare, but it is still a handy tool for protecting someone else's dog-and yours.

So what are some methods you use to make sure you're a responsible pit bull owner? What do you think makes a responsible owner? IMO, a responsible pit bull owner knows the history of the breed, what the dog is capable of, and takes steps to prevent any problems like dog aggression. Many people I've spoken to don't know that the dog requires any socialization at all, which, quite frankly, scares me. Also, what about chaining your pit bull?PhotobucketThat, I think depends on how long the dog stays outside, and how you interact with him. I do not believe pit bulls should be an outside dog unless you spend ample time (i.e. 3 hours or more) with him. The dog having a job is also a major plus. Pit bulls love nothing more than working (aka playtime), especially when they see how happy it makes you. But if they are to be outside for extended periods of time, at least make sure they've got shelter.


Now, let's hear those opinions!

Tuesday, December 16, 2008

To breed or not to breed?

It's something I've heard a lot, especially recently. 'We should stop breeding pit bulls because there are too many of them!' Well, are they right or are they wrong?

Let's look at it from the anti-breeder's side. If we stop breeding dogs (and in most cases, spay and neuter them all), the shelters will be cleared and put out of business within 10 years. Alright, good job. But, now there's a demand for dogs and absolutely zero supply, thanks to the spaying/neutering of all the dogs. Now what? We start importing from foreign countries, which is well enough, but it's rather expensive just for a dog. Sure, we could restart breeding populations again, but won't that just start the cycle again?

From the breeder's point of view, to stop breeding altogether is a death sentence for all dogs everywhere. The simple fact of the matter is if you stop breeding, no more dogs. Spaying and neutering is fine, but why spay/neuter a dog who's got something worth passing on?

Where do I stand? I think that one or two litters a year is fine. Over 5 litters a year is just stupid. So there goes backyard breeders and puppy mills, which is just despicable. As for what dog should be breeding, they should serve a purpose. Breed herding dogs who can and excel in herding. Hunting types should have a high prey drive and be proven in the field. If your dog can't perform, or you're just too lazy to find out, then you have no business breeding it. With carefully regulated breeding, we can both empty out shelters and maintain the supply for the demand. It's simple math.